Minnesota Reading Association

Minnesota Academy of Reading 



Wendy Richards
Lisa Krall

Joan Sax-Bendix

Roberta Douglas Gale

Legislative Liaison
Eva Boehm

MACTE Liaison
Rod Winters

Joan Sax-Bendix

MDE Liaison
Cory Stai

Past Presidents

Keitha-Gail Martin-Kerr
Debra S. Peterson

Christopher W. Johnson
Catherine Kelly
Karen Moroz
Debra Peterson
Amy Smith
Terri Christenson
Carolyn Gwinn

Past Secretary
Pamela Solvie

What is the Minnesota Academy of Reading?

Background and Mission Statement

Approximately 20 years ago, the International Reading Association commissioned the Minnesota Academy of Reading (MAR) as a Special Interest Council, giving the organization this charge:

The purpose of this council shall be to (1) provide an opportunity for members to actively engage in the process of sharing and testing professional ideas; (2) engage in service functions of instruction, consultation, and evaluation.

Currently MAR serves as one of the local area councils supporting the Minnesota Reading Association.

The purpose of the Minnesota Academy of Reading is to bring various groups of reading stakeholders together to discuss and respond to reading practices/policies in Minnesota.

  • We provide opportunities for reading stakeholders to share, analyze, and evaluate reading policies and practices. We gather groups of reading stakeholders together to impact the licensure requirements for reading professionals in Minnesota. Rather than reacting to policies, this group desires to have a visionary role in the direction of future policies.
  • We provide opportunities for reading stakeholders to celebrate the work of their colleagues. Each spring, we host a banquet honoring a Minnesota reading professional who has made significant contributions to reading locally and nationally, including Barbara Taylor (2005), Michael Graves (2006), Jay Samuels (2007) and Alton Greenfield (2008), Maureen Prenn (2010), Deborah Dillon (2012), Gail Jordan (2014), and Rick Beach (2016),  and Cindy Whaley (2018).
Our members are K-12 teachers and higher education professors, mostly the latter, with extensive research, teaching, and publication experience. However, this is an inclusive group, open to any interested reading professional.

Becoming a Member of the Minnesota Academy of Reading

To become a member of the Minnesota Academy of Reading, first join the Minnesota Reading Association and then identify MAR as your local council.  A printable membership form is also available.

For more information, contact:
Lisa Krall at lisakkrall@yahoo.com

Congratulations to MAR for achieving ILA Honor Council 2017-18!

2018-19 Meeting Dates*

Friday, October 12, 2018 10AM-Noon

Thursday, November 8, 2018 1-3PM

Thursday, December 6, 2018 1-3PM (tentative)

Friday, January 18, 2019 1-4PM MAR Symposium

Thursday, February 7, 2019 1-3PM

Thursday, March 21, 2019 1-3PM

* Please contact Lisa Krall for the location of the meetings and to confirm times! We are discussing the new ILA Standards for the Preparation of Literacy Professionals 2017 at our monthly meetings!

Save the Date!

Saturday, April 13, 2019 1-3PM MAR Annual Spring Mixer Sumner Library NE Minneapolis

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software